I Forge Iron

Setting up - Looking for friendly advice in SW England

Hi All,

I'm setting up a coke forge in a derelict outbuilding at home near Bath... I would really like to get it right as it's costing me a small fortune in building work, electricals, etc.! Just asking for a bit of advice if possible as I've only ever worked in one other forge. So - I'm wondering if there are any friendly folk out there in the South West that wouldn't mind showing me their place and / or spending 15 minutes with me? It would be great to meet some fellow smiths too anyway.

I've got very little experience, but I love working with metal and so I'm just going for it. I've got quite a small area allocated and the ceiling is only 7" but I do have the luxury of an upper storey that I could knock up into which I'm thinking I might well have to...

Sorry - bit of an open question - I'll be doing some layout sketches tomorrow which will probably help.

Thanks in advance!

Debbie

Hello Debbie,

It will be worth you keeping an eye on this site as there are a few County Shows in your area that all have blacksmithing competitions,   http://www.blacksmithscompetition.co.uk/index.html

The dates for this year are not up yet but they are usually around the same time each year. Also have a  look at the links to each show on the left hand side for some contact names, most are blacksmiths.

Have a look on the Worshipful Company of Blacksmiths site under their awards section and there should be a list of medal holders and some contact info. There is also the Blacksmiths Guild down Exeter way. John Bellamy is a member and posts on here in the Blacksmiths UK section.

Have a look at the BABA web site as well for some contact info.

I can't help in regards to popping round as I am about 3 hrs away, but good luck in your new venture. Everything will fall into place eventually and get tailored to how you work.

Have fun,

Mick.