I Forge Iron

One burner or two

WHS III

I'm upgrading from a brake drum forge to propane. I'm looking at a Chile Forge one burner (Tobasco). I'm just getting started in forging with general small stuff but I would like to forge small knives and do simple heating (1084). Maybe down the road try small damascus billet. Is a single burner going to do it or should I go with a two burner?  

A quality one burner is sufficient for a beginner knife maker, as you can only heat up the area that you can work before it cools. And yes, you can make small damascus billets in it. It will be much cheaper to run while you are in the 'learning the ropes' stage.

In a couple of years, if you outgrow this one, it will be time to upgrade, and make this one your portable demo unit. You will know when your skills outgrow the tools.

Thanks guys. I think the single burner will do all I need it to do, but it would be much less expensive to go with the two burner now rather than buying a whole new forge in a couple of years. I've already got my order in with Chile Forge for a single burner Tabasco but I was having second thoughts. Would the two burner be way more expensive to run?

Look at the tutorial on my web-site at the Forge Supplies page.  Build your own and save a lot of money and get a forge that suits your needs.

My tutorial is for a guide and you can modify it as you desire.  Look into building a Frosty T burner.  Do a search on IFI for Frosty's T Burner.  There is a lot of info there.

The biggest thing about a propane forge is the size of the mouth you're working out of.  My forge only has a 3x5 side entry, so I can't do large scroll work unless I open the front door and expose the entire inside of the forge.  That means a tremendous loss of heat, which means more propane used.

You can always block up a large opening, but you can't open a small opening.