I Forge Iron

Making a knife is easy.

Berryhill

Making a knife is easy right? Just get some steel and wood 10 minutes later you have a knife. This is how I thought. I've been doing research for a few months now and made a few knives. This site and others have been a big help. (Thanks to all for your advice the heat treating topics are great) So my problem is I make very ugly knives. My tools are as limited as my skill. I can't seem to get my knives to flow. I'll cut out a profile that I'm happy with just to mess it up with a ulgy handle. I need advice on design. How can I get a better idea on what works on a knife and what doesn't. Anyone know any good books or Internet sites that can help? Thanks for your time.

There's a lot of info here.  Wayne Goddards books were a big help to me.  But in the end it just takes practice.  I don't have many fancy tools so my methods have developed around what I can do.   Everybody's first knives are lacking, keep at it and you'll notice things getting better.  Most of all, use them.

Just keep at it, and keep your first knife to compare with those that follow.  I try to keep any that I don't like or am embarrassed to sell to learn from.  You'll be amazed at the difference how your early knives looked compared to ones a few months from now.  And post pictures of what you've done here for others to critique.  You'll learn from the feedback and get better faster.

Here's one of my first knives or KSO, whatever you'd call it, at the time I was proud of it. And some of the ones that you really, really like keep to use as a future model.

post-34362-0-43144000-1378076242_thumb.j

Berryhill,