I Forge Iron

Brake Drum Forge

I am relatively new to the Black Smithing community and have been looking for ways to build a simple, cheap (economically) Forge. The design I have decided to use is a Solid Fuel Charcoal Forge. I recently acquired a brake drum and am planning to either sit it or weld it into a sheet of steel, around 3/16 thick.
That is what I plan to do and I would like to know what you guys think and if you have any suggestions please don't hold back, just don't be rude. Thanks!

Jakob I.

Here is a picture of the drum and 2 RR spikes I found.

post-40172-0-76932300-1371380707_thumb.j

Here's a link to my setup.  I would like to make a side draft hood for it in the future vs. always making sure I'm upwind.  It would also shield sunlight as I use it outdoors.  Other than that it works great, plenty of room to heat something long like a rockbar.  I would suggest getting the largest brake drum you can and line it which helps with fuel efficiency.

'?do=embed' frameborder='0' data-embedContent>>

I would NOT weld drum into top plate, i would bolt it in.... IF you ever have to change out drum or want to change forge design, bolts come apart easier than welds....

Here is how I did it.... Not saying it is a perfect design, but it works well for me and so far there is not much I would change ....

Dale

Alright, thanks for the advice. Dale, are there other reasons you shouldn't weld the drum to the plate? I am not planning on changing anything currently and I already have another drum in the works.

Just wondering. Do you think it would work if I just sat it in there without welding or bolting it down?

And also, what's a website that sells blowers, I have been looking and can't find ANY. Apart from old Ebay ones that are going for double the price...

By the way, here are some pictures of what I came up with...currently legless ;) :