I Forge Iron

candle holder

Rhettbarnhart

My sister has been after me to make her a candle holder since I started smithin' so I finally got around to I almost a year later.This Is my first attempt soooooo......the next one  will look nicer.Anyways here it ispost-25948-0-71381900-1365649060_thumb.jpost-25948-0-14431900-1365649090_thumb.jpost-25948-0-58888000-1365649105_thumb.j.I need to make a set of fire tools and I want to put rams heads on the ends so I have been practicing rams heads too,here is my 3rd one  post-25948-0-37576600-1365648949_thumb.jpost-25948-0-20183400-1365649016_thumb.jpost-25948-0-15121200-1365649033_thumb.j.So what do yall think?if yall have thoughts to improve them I would love to hear them.

rhett

Thanks solano,once again,I got the idea for the candle holder from 99ppo(Daniel)

Swede fiddle in the second pic you can see the little tray I have I just used a ball pein to speed the stock, it could be bigger though...

Nobody special,I tried that and the bloody rod keeps wanting to fall out of the curl how do I hold the rod in place?

Thanks for the comments and suggestions

Rhett

If you're talking about while forming, put the rod in a vice and do your work near the vice surface to minimize wiggle.

If you're talking about still loose after formed, you can do several things. Let it set on that tray on bottom,  you could put a pin through the bottom for the candle to sit on, you could rough the inside edges or make burrs to grip the rod/candle.  Or after shaping, close the circle a tiny bit more so that it is fractionally smaller than the candle and the candle should push into it a little. Of course the last one only works if you consistantly use the same size candles.

You could also form it around a tapered rod so that the bottom curl is smaller, giving the candle something to sit on, then gradually opening to the desired size.