I Forge Iron

First vice, may need some repairs

Chinobi

Hey all,

came across a guy that was selling a variety of tools in my city, one of which was a Quikwerk 5" post vise.  I ended up paying $140 for it.  The thing i am kicking myself for now is that i didnt pay close enough attention to the body when i was checking it out, and it wasnt until i got home that i noticed that it is cracked!

it will likely never be used for anything very large, and will not be subjected to a lot of heavy hitting.  is something like this repairable if i grind the crack out and weld it back up?  or more specifically *have* it welded back up, as i have zero experience with electric welding.  can it be used safely without repair if i keep an eye on it? did i just buy an industrial sized paperweight?

the threads are also worn and i will likely have to fix or replace the spring too  :unsure:

the only marking i saw on it was the manufacturers stamp.

specs:

Quikwerk 5" jaw mfg by warren tool & forge

40" jaw to end of post

60 lb

Thank you for your input!

post-26562-0-82353200-1365232307_thumb.j

post-26562-0-34078800-1365232323_thumb.j

post-26562-0-38762000-1365232377_thumb.j

post-26562-0-53698100-1365232391_thumb.j

That's a very nice vise.  I wouldn't worry about the crack just keep an eye on it if it starts getting larger then grind it out and weld it.  Make an mark a the end of the crack to see is it getting larger.  It probably never will get bigger unless you really abuse it. It is probably an original manufacturing flaw.

Thanks :) i had a couple of smiths at the forge take a look at it and they agreed it was serviceable and an easy fix if it came down to it.  looking forward to getting it mounted and in service!  :D

actually relative to similar 5" vices that they had purchased or seen $140 is doing pretty good for our region too :)