I Forge Iron

Firepot welding question

95silverstallion

Im in the process of building my first forge and have a question about welding 1/2" plate for the pot. Since its not going to carry any heavy load but it will obviously see extreme heat...would I be kidding myself trying to weld up the 1/2" plate firepot with my Lincoln 140 MIG welder? Ive been welding the table up with my MIG using gas but if need be and you think it would work I can switch to .030 flux core. Or should I just tack it up good and have someone with a big welder finish it off?

Thanks,

Brian

95SS, you are okay with your equipment. I built my fire box out of 3/8" plate and used a Lincoln 135. Bevel the edges and make multiple passes. That is how the big boys do it on heavy iron. I have been using my fire pot for 9 years with no sign of degredation.

Greetings Brian,

Test weld ,  Test weld,   Test weld..  !/2 plate at that angle allready has a bevel....  I think you will be filling a  3/4 or better gap...    Check out the duty cycle of your machine...   It's only metal have at it...  reverse gear is a grinder...

Good luck

Jim

Yes its a 110v welder.

I figured  it cant hurt to just lay the juice to it and go multiple passes. I can MIG weld good but I have never welded plate that thick(1/2"). I suppose a good initial preheat will help since im in the garage with no heat and its in the 20s. I will definetly do some test passes on leftover pieces.

If I thought the wife wouldnt give me the look I would just go buy a stick welder and be done with it.

Thanks for the boost of confidence,

Brian