I Forge Iron

How do you pick and choose?

I'm just learning to stick weld with my kit and I'm having a hard time understanding how you choose your amps and volts and stick choice.

I just built an anvil stand out of 1" square stock and I used 6013 sticks. Try as I might, I couldn't get the mix right so I didn't burn through the corners of the stock or leave a puddle at the end of my bead.

What am I doing wrong?

Ah the memories. (sigh) Welcome to the learning curve Vaughn, stick welding has a lot of details and the devil's in the details. E 6013 is a deep penetrating fast freeze rod really good for vertical and overhead IF you're wearing PPE because it spatters, LOTS. Being a fast freeze rod you aren't going to get nice smooth beads, about the nicest you can expect is to get even sized bead ridges. (whatever they're called, I'm more than 40 years out of school) It's excellent for filling gaps, making root passes and welding dirty steel.

What E6013 is NOT is good for a beginner to try welding something like tubing or are you welding solid 1" sq? If it's solid scarf it deep and use the E6013 as a root weld. It's not necessary but what the hey it will not hurt. Finish with 7018, it is a filler rod that freezes more slowly so it leaves a nice smooth bead. Just do NOT over amp it or it'll undercut the edges of the join. Undercutting is when the puddle melted by the arc is too large to fill with the rod melted and leaves undercut edges. Over amping is the most common cause of undercutting but it's also the most popular way to weld with 7018, it leaves a pretty bead and if you don't look closely you think it's a good weld.