I Forge Iron

Anyone fancy building a gas forge? inUK or bought one from USA?

becabwca

hi

i am an artist blacksmith, & after 3 years of planning to but never actually building a gas forge, i have decided to bite the billet ~& buy one....cannot believe no-one is making them over here!
there are loads in america!

so now i am looking at diamondback forges metalsmith forge:
http://www.diamondbackironworks.com/2_burner_metalsmith.html

which is much more than i want to spend, but i seem to have no other option, unless someone experienced would be willing to build me one?!!
in return for payment of course.....and i would sign any disclaimer, or you could leave it unfinished or something....a flat-pack forge!

or does anyone know where i may get a good one it the uk? i mean not a swan one & not for shed loads of money....

thanks.

beca

I built both of mine at a forge building workshop put on by a blacksmithing group; way cheaper than buying a commercial one and being a group building project it dealt with the tools and skills issues.

Perhaps you should talk your local group into hosting such a workshop?

Otherwise; building the shell is fairly simple and easy, perhaps you could just buy a known good burner---easier to ship too! and build the shell yourself. Refractories should be available at places that cater to kiln building---or commercial boilers.

Hi Beca, I am too in the UK and couldn't be bothered to build a gasser, (shame, shame yes, I know, I got over it!) I'd rather spend my time forging than building a forge, so I imported a diamondback, even with shipping and import duties it worked out cheaper than anything uk built. I did search high and low for something similar in the UK, but came up empty handed- that was a few years ago.