I Forge Iron

Junkyard Steel ID Guide Needed

Hello, all, I have few questions:

1. Somewhere here I found, but now cannot find again, a page that talked about parts commonly found in junkyards and what types of steel they are typically made from. I am a new 'smith and this info would be real useful to me. Can anyone direct me to that page, and/or any similar pages?

2. I'm also a woodworker (Roy Underhill's books on making tools, especially woodworking tools, are what originally got me interested in blacksmithing), and I would like to try making some simple tools like a froe, chisels (especially heavier firmer and shipwright's chisels) and maybe eventually a broadaxe and other edged tools. For making very hard chisels that could be sharpened super sharp and that would hold an edge (if not be very tough), I am under the impression that I would need a tool steel with a very high carbon content. Can anyone tell me what types of things I might find in a junkyard that would have the appropriate amount of carbon (and other alloying elements) for this?

3. Alternately, should I simply buy some new A2 or O1 steel and use that instead, to eliminate some unknown variables? And if so, can anyone refer me to good, economical sources for such steel?

Thanks for reading my long post and thanks in advance for any help.

I've used junk steel, but more often, I will buy water hardening drill rod in 3' lengths from www.travers.com. For example, a length of 1/2" round is currently $12.99 plus shipping. This is a plain carbon steel with good edge holding properties. Travers also carries oil and air hardening drill rod. Two other big suppliers are MSC and McMaster-Carr.