I Forge Iron

Quenching hot steel

Hi guys

I am new to all this and have recently acquired the tools needed to really have a go.
I have made a few items and only last week completed some metal work to fit to a mirror that I made.

My question is a beginner’s question. I have read some info regarding hardening and tempering but it goes in and out again so will have to take a bit at a time.

So, when forging some mild steel I heat it to orange then shape it with a hammer on the anvil. It usually takes a few heats to get the desired finish I want, and then at that point I quench it in my water bucket.

When the metal gets quenched it will not be red hot but will be hot enough to make the water bubble up, hiss and fizzle.

This allows me to handle the newly forged piece and clean it on the wire wheel.

So my question is

What effect does quenching the, hot piece, at this temperature have on the finished item.

And what would the effect be if it was quenched after being heated to orange.

Cheers Alan

Even mild steel can harden in water and although you said it would done at a black heat, habit may dictate that you begin quenching from a higher heat. You will then start noticing pieces that won't bend cold or allow a hole to be drilled. Better to develop the habit of forging and letting it fully air cool.

If you're using A-36 (hot rolled) from a steel supply or hardware store, I'd be careful about quenching unnecessarily.

The actual steel content is a mixed bag, so sometimes quenching will crack it. especially in thinly worked areas (like fullered necks and split sections).

I use my slack tub on an absolutely as-needed basis. If a couple minutes hanging from the horn or laying on the floor will accomplish the same thing, I stay out of the water.

Thanks guys. maybe I'll get in the habit of just laying the work down on the ground out of the way to air cool.