I Forge Iron

Where to begin...

I'm new to all of this, have yet to put hammer to iron. I am kinda wondering the best route to go. I live in central NC so am fairly close to the John C. Campbell folk school. I was thinking of starting my training there, however that's about $1,200 for a week. I can afford it, but just. Or, I could use the money for a beginning shop and learn by trial and error with some guidance of the local smiths (I understand there are a large number of blacksmiths in NC).

I'm old enough to know that a solid understanding of the basics will make learning much easier and faster. However, I also know that there is no substitute for practice and having my own (quality) equipment will give me the unreplaceable time at the anvil. Even if I go the school route I can still get a few hammers, hobble together a brakedrum forge and if lucky get a deal on an anvil, if not I can find some kinda of big metal to bang against. Because of the area I live in I may have to use a propane forge, and a home made set-up is $300 - $600, depending on if I make the burner (I think I'd prefer buying one as it is the main factor in forge quality).

Nothing will happen prior to the start of the new year (give or take a few months) as I am active military currently in Iraq. Right now I am just reading everything I can find on the subjects and locating resources to use once I start. Already panning on joining local groups and ABANA.

Now, changing subjects, I will also be joining the SCA, heard a number of persons here mention it. I had almost joined a number of years ago, but life happened and I never got the chance. So, now I'm stable enough and the wife is interested as well. I know this will be a good compliment to smithing also. So, how many of you are actuallly members? I read a post that someone went to Pennsic this year and there was a smithy set up, love to hear about that.