I Forge Iron

Blower Volume

I've just acquired a coal forge, with a blower that was originally made to operate off a line shaft.

The problem is, ... that I have no clue what speed the line shaft operated at, ... or what RPM range, the blower requires.

I have NO EXPERIENCE with coal forges, and wouldn't know a properly aspirated coal fire, if it was burning my backside.

ANY information about blower requirements, ... or performance, ... would be helpful in flattening out the learning curve, and save me a lot of trial and error.

A line shaft typically runs at 400 rpm. What gave the diffrent speeds of output was the size of pully that was mounted on the shaft. So a 6 inch pulley would make 7539.6 inches per minute and if your driven pulley was say 2" you would get 1200 rpm on the driven shaft. To figure speeds I take Pi (3.1415) X diameter = circumfrence do this on both pulleys and write it down. Take P1 (drive) and multiply circumfrence= linear per minute (inches if you used inches to figure your circumfrence). Then take linear per minute and divide it by P2= rpm.

blowers like buffalo usually have 3450 rpm motors, high output cfm's but I have seen blowers with 1750 rpm. Clean it well and check for cfm number, a blower with a 400 cfm output needs 3450 motor

where did you got those numbers? the 3450 or 1750 rpm is because of AC having 60 cycles for incoming power in the states. The blades being turned size and shape determine the CFM being moved. both these motor speeds Can produce the same CFM with various fan blades being used. also I very much doubt a line shaft was turning anywhere near 3450 rpm.

Thanks for the info.

At this point, the resurrection of this old Forge, will most likely be a "Winter" project.

It's currently disassembled, and resting upside down, on a pallet, ... but as soon as I get it back together, pictures will be forthcoming.