I Forge Iron

Tempering a Railroad Spike

Hello!

I'm very new to the blacksmithing world. This site rocks and thank you for those whom have already helped me out!

I just have a quick question about tempering a RR spike knife. Could someone be kind enough to explain to me the property technique?

Thanks so much!

Buy quenching in Rob Gunter's "Super Quench" you can toughen up a HC RR Spike; but it's not really in the league of proper knife hardness's in my opinion.

The HC spikes are spec'd to never exceed the boundary between mild steel and medium steel. The rail clips, funny ampersand looking things, spec out quite a bit higher and would make a decent blade as well as most automobile coil and leaf springs.

RR Spike knives seem to be wildly popular but they are like the dancing bear---the wonder is not how well it dances but that it dances at all!

Thanks guys!

I did some reading and I definitely see what you are driving at. They are HC spikes but even those don't appear to have a high enough cabon content to make a "good" knife. I have a ton of these things so maybe I could try something else with them.

no you cant HT a spike, sorry read about heat treating and you will understand that one needs at least 35 points of carbon to harden a steel

No disrespect meant to a fellow electrician, but I'm going to get nitpicky here.