I Forge Iron

Your LPG / Propane Questions answered

Corin

Hi People,

I have just joined this forum, and I am a newbie to blacksmithing having only a years experience.

I am not a Newbie to Propane. I have worked with Propane my whole life, I live and breath the stuff.
I am amazed by the miss information out there in blacksmith land, concerning this amazingly versatile and relatively safe energy source.

A little about me... I do not know everything about Propane, though I would like to . I do have access to one of the best libraries on the subject you will find anywhere in the world. If I don't know I will say so and probably direct you to somebody who will. If I say something you disagree with please say so, I am not perfect as I said, and it is important that all information shared is correct.

In my part of the world my trade is "Advanced LP Gasfitter", I do not work to American Standards such as NFPA 58, and whilst I own a copy I am not qualified to assist with your local legal requirements unless of course you are in NSW Australia. I am very familiar with all applicable codes in Australia, but not necessarily local enforcement and requirements.

I have repaired and helped with burner design on countless forges, but I am no expert in Burner design. I can trouble shoot, calculate your burners capacity, and assist in other areas. My own forge from cold start up takes about 2 1/2 minutes to melt 1/2" steel bar. I am pretty pleased with it. It is naturally inspirated (ie no blower).

If you have a question about propane, try me.

Lets give this a go, hopefully I will be able to assist.

Please note that I give my answers in good faith, as I believe through better understanding comes increased safety. In any matter involving Propane you should consult your local qualified tradespeople to ensure what you are doing, is both safe and complies with local legal requirements. All care taken no responsibility.