I Forge Iron

propane tanks

Amon

Hello everybody i am new to the blacksmith world and i have a question, i want to build my forge and i have two propane tanks one is the standard size you get at gas stations or wal-mart and my other one is larger one, witch one should i use for my forge and i need to neutralize the left over propane but i cant get the nozzle off the tank nor do i have any special adapter to hook a water hose up to dilute the propane, how should i go about this

p.s. my grammar and spelling is as bad as a retarded monkey

George, I think the plan is to use one of the empty propane tanks as a shell for the forge.

Amon, people usually use the 20 lb. (small tanks) for that, but it doesn't have to be a propane tank. It's kind of a waste to turn a useable tank into a forge. Any round sheet metal shell will work: an old five gallon bucket or a piece of round duct-work will make a good forge too. (Heck it doesn't even need to be round.)

I snagged a couple of empty freon tanks in the alley a while back so I try not to mess around with propane tanks. I do have an empty one; I let it run on the grill until it nothing else came out and then I removed the valve on the top with a large wrench. I believe it has a 3/4" pipe thread, nothing special. It had some super nasty stinky oily stuff inside that I assume is the odorant they add to the propane.

Hey there Amon,

Are you going to use these tanks "on" your existing gas forge, or are you wanting to cut one of them to use as your forge?

If you intend to use one as your forge let me try to assist you in your decission to cut a used propane tank. DON'T DO IT!

There are many other options for a forge other than a used propane tank as many others will tell you.

Again I respectfully say, "DON'T"!

Mark<><

Just trying to keep the statistics on explosions down a bit. Talk to a local propane rep or provider if you insist on cutting one.

Two things: