I Forge Iron

Gloves ? Glasses? Do people actually skip them?

Ok I have been trying to get tips on getting good round scrolls, mine come out a bit more irregular than I like. So I just watched a bunch of blacksmith videos on the internet and I have to say that either most of the people posting there aren't serious smiths or many serious smiths are outright crazy.

Out of 10 videos I watched, 7 smiths had no gloves on, 9 had no eye protection and 3 were smithing in short sleeved shirts. That seems, well, nuts. I am new to smithing though I have been welding and fabricating for some time but I would think a lot of the safety should be the same. In fact I have been known to rebuke my 14 year old for not wearing gloves and eye protection in the shop. Its just way too easy to get seriously injured.

Do you have any idea what a piece of yellow metal comming off your workpiece would do to your eye? It would boil the fluid until the eye exploded. Dont worry about the UV comming off the piece or forge, that will only take away your vision a little at a time. One hot splinter will take out an eye permanently and irreparably in seconds.

When it comes to not wearing gloves, pop quiz: how long of a contact with a yellow hot piece would it take to make a third degree burn? Answer is less than a second. Yet some like to try out their scroll fit freehand? Even a piece that is black (not heated enough to see) can give you a second degree burn in seconds.

Same goes for short sleeved shirts. If you cant handle working in the heat then perhaps metal work is not the hobby for you. This reminds me of silly people that ride motorcycles in flip flops and swim suits except as a metal worker I can gurantee with 100% that you WILL get something dropped on you, shot at you out of a machine such as a cutoff wheel or drill bit comming apart.