I Forge Iron

how to make this usable fuel.

draco 1

what is the best method of turning wood into charcoal i tried last night and it took forever to burn it all down but finale got the barrel full of cols and sealed up now that i am at that point how long should i weight before i open it up to use. are there any better methods.

DSC_2596.jpg

DSC_2585.jpg

Charcoal making has traditionally been done in mounded earth ovens. I have read lots of historical accounts. It's a rather tricky business though and lots of experience is REAL helpful. Best I can advise is to read/study and then try in smallish batches building toward larger batches as you gain experience and confidence. I have NO experience... just the reading part. Not that hard I think as it is a very dirty and somewhat dangerous job... few elite thinkers are involved... but not that easy either for beginners. BTW it does take patience as the old time charcoal works took several days for a mound to be converted and cooled enough to harvest.

When I make charcoal I use a 55 gal barrel with removable lid but you can cover a barrel with a sheet of steel and weights.
My barrels have four 3" holes 90 degrees to one and other in the side of the barrel about an inch from the bottom. I have plugs that fit these holes.
fill the barrel with the wood with some piles over the top.
Light the wood at the bottom of the barrel through one of the holes. Let burn for 1 to 1 1/2 hours or until all the wood breaks when grabbed with tongs.
Plug the 4 holes add dirt if neccessary so it gets no air.
Cover the top again so it gets no air.
I pour water on the sides of the barrel to cool but it is not neccessary
the Next day I empty the charcoal and start over. I do 3 or 4 barrels at a time.
You should get 50 to 60 % charcoal by volume of wood.