I Forge Iron

found this

I found this listed on ebay and thought it might be good for a portable anvil maybe for the ocasional craft show. As I am new to this and craft shows are a long way off, can anyone advise me? is this anvil any good or even worth buying. My idea for a craft show portable setup Is this anvil set on my 4x8 trailer next to a brake drum forge. the hollow in the bottom of this anvil has me wondering. advise?

I hate to bust your bubble but that is pure junk! It's hollow, there ain't nothing there, no masss to pound on, it'll break apart, just junk cast iron. Sorry for sounding so harsh but they are scamming you, I have seen that same anvil on eBay in about four different colors, green, black, rusty, and now red. It's just some junk from the Far East that they are suckering people into buying as an old anvil. You would be better off with a 16# sledge hammer head in a bucket of concrete than that thing, sorry. <_<

Run in a zig-zag pattern as fast as you can and do not look back.
Not even 6 pounds (and hollow), we use hammers heavier than that.

We can help you get a real anvil but need to know the following. Where are you located, how heavy an anvil do you want, and do you have $2-$3 a pound to invest?

RUNNING AS FAST AS I CAN!!!! i figured that was the case, I just wanted a second opinion incase my uncalibrated eyeball was mistaken. I actually have a few large sledge hammer heads my grand dad had in his shop before he died. I guess i'll find a way to mount one of them. like I said before, I'm interested in making a setup for craftshows but I have a lot to learn before I can about not only forging techniques but also the business side of things. Needless to say I have a long way to go before I can reliably make any money from this. or have the ability to show off anything. thanks guys.

http://chattanooga.craigslist.org/grd/1725037276.html