I Forge Iron

help needed locating solid fuel in UK

bob55314

hi all im bob!
i am very new to this blacksmithing game and i have all ready hit a problem. i have made myself a forge using a lorry brake drum using plans off the internet and i have an electric blower that gives me lots of air the problem that i am having is what to put in it. After trying the local solid fuel yard i have got told that you cannot buy coke for forging. so i tried some of there coal brickets which do not burn hot (only got the steel to red hot after half an hour of heating with air) the only other option is using charcoal but that burns to quickly and for the small bit of forging that i want to do it would cost me a fortune! so can anyone help? i live just outside of maldon in essex if that helps

I had to look up where maldon in essex was located as the site is visited by over 50 world wide countries each month. I have added that information to your account so you can get help in or near your location.

I would suggest contacting BABA. If you type in your location there are several blacksmiths in Essex. They will know where the best fuel is located, help you get set up, and point you to the tools you may need.

Guest Farrer82

Hi Bob, being a newcomer myself, I'm glad to be of assistance.

There's several suppliers of Smithing coke up here in the Midlands, although I gather the availability fluctuates depending upon production and stock levels of the various wholesalers. I currently use 'Sunbrite Singles' coke ( a brand name variety of Monckton Coke), which is currently owned by Hargreaves and produced from Anthracite mined from Maltby Colliery.

It's pretty much the only coke I've used for smithing, and is probably a little large compared to the 'breeze' that most smiths hold in high regard, but it suits my purposes fine and as they say; 'If it ain't broke, don't fix it!'.

You may be able to obtain the fuel from coals2u.co.uk, just type in Sunbrite Singles in the search box.