I Forge Iron

Demoing

Hey guys, I have been invited to do a demo at our local scottish highland games coming in august, I did one before, last year and it went pretty good. This is my second demo so I am very new at this demoing thing, so if you guys got any advice on things i could ad to my show, last year I made some spoons and forks and a axe out of leaf spring. I sure do apprciate your time.

Angus......

One time I was helping a guy demo that was a good front man, he did all the talking so i got to just work...I spent all day making twisted link welded chain from 5/16 round. It turned out to be a great demo, folks could come by in a few hours and see how long the chain was getting. This led to conversations about how valuable chain might have been , if there was no Ace hardware store on the corner, etc. A lot of smiths won't forge weld in a public demo, and for good reason, but if you keep a weather eye on your crowd, it's fun and educational. I came out with about 45 inches of chain, It sold for $180-USA. What to make is often the hardest part of the weekend for me. I'm not keen on public interaction, I usually pick a long involved project that weeds out the 5-minute lookers. It's just what I do, pick something you are comfortable with, and get to work.