I Forge Iron

makeshift anvil

I have a steel plate that is 1/4 inch think and 6.5 X 11 inches square. Mounted to a hardwood block, will this make a suitable anvil for a beginner? Any input as to what would make a better substitue anvil is welcomed. I am a student and have little money as of right now. I would prefer to use something very inexpensive to obtain. Thank you.

Dan,

An anvil must have some mass but part of the relationship is based on what you will be forging. Anything is better than nothing and what you are proposing is better than a rock but I think a piece of square or round shafting would be better (buy it at the scrap yard for not much). A possible set up would be a piece 5-6 feet long and set endwise in the ground semi-permanently. Another very good style used by the Brazeal brothers was a piece of plate 14x14 by 3 inches thick. They ground various radii, flats and a beveled corner on one edge and mounted it in an angle iron holder. This is quite useful and offers a lot of flexibility.

Dan,

If you are having trouble locating a chunk of steel for an anvil, then you should consider getting in touch with a blacksmith group near you. This group will almost certainly have someone near enough to you for you to visit and get some pointers. I can tell you that if someone showed up at my shop with your needs, they'd leave with at least SOMETHING substantial to bang on. So I'm sure the blacksmiths up there will be just as helpful or more so. Email or call the contacts you see here:

NEW ENGLAND BLACKSMITHS

Pres: Owen Bostram
99 Chase Hill Road
Ashaway, RI 02804
(410) 377-2611
obostrom@cox.net

Ed: Fred Mikkelson
23 Waterman Drive
North Scituate, RI 02857-2036
(401)647-3086
fred@trollshammerforge.com

You can also go to their site at:

www.newenglandblacksmiths.org

Alright, first off just quit, there are too many Dans coming around. I was here first... almost.... maybe.... lol just playing with ya.