I Forge Iron

Iron in the hat

I was just at my first one a few weeks ago at our guild meeting. The way they did it was you gave them the iron and they would put a solo cup next to it. then you bought tickets say $1 for each. Then you could put as many in any cup as you wish. Later someone pulls the ticket for the winner of that cup/piece of iron. So the more you spend and the more you put in a cup the better odds you have.

To add to what piglet said it is used to raise money for the guild. Members donate items and the guild sells tickets to the members to try and win something someone else brought. Since I have never done this before I was looking for advice from others on what to take as a donation.

Basically it's a raffle with many objects, some of them scrap iron, some forged pieces. I started out bringing boxes of spikes, but I noticed they got fewer and fewer tickets as the club members got all they wanted. Then I started bringing other items like an axle, a leaf or coil spring, etc.

As I got some practice I started bringing things I'd made - candleholders, knives, a backscratcher, etc. along with some scrap iron.

Won my first pair of tongs at the first meeting I attended, that worked out well (with a bunch of tickets in that cup). :)

It's a nice opportunity to show off your work and win items made by others.

Edited by BeaverDamForge

In general, it should be OK to put anything in Iron in the Hat that someone would want or could use. Personally, I like to see folks put in something they made. I like to have things my friends have forged. If you aren't into forging yet, you might consider some steel, tools (blacksmith.. or not), baked goods, plants, gloves.... whatever.... as long as it's useful.