I Forge Iron

MIG welders.

MoleDoc

SO here's a question for the old pros:

If you were going to get a new MIG welder for you garage/forge in the making, what features would you look for and do you recommend any specific brands or models?
My limitations: 110V outlets and no talent whatsoever:D

Suggestions?

Ted
Escondido, CA

Go the extra $$ and buy a Miller (Hobart or Lincoln in that order) Miller and Hobart are more user friendly. You will be extremely limited on what you can weld tho. I would buy an Oxy/gas rig and learn to gas weld, more versital given all you have is 110v. If you have no votech school or such in your area check with your local High School and see if they have such and 'bribe' the teacher to teach you to use the torch for cutting and welding. You can pick up a torch set for little $$ compared to a MIG welder and all you can do with the welder is weld...

I have been using a Lincoln welder for over 10 years. The model is SP-100. It can use either flux core wire or if I choose to hook up the gas and change some wires around it will use the solid mig wire. If you plan to weld thin stuff like sheet metal, the shielding gas is necessary. I have only ever used flux core wire with it. Most of the welding I do is under 1/4". Migs have two main controls. Wire speed and amps. Look for one that has more than just a high and low amp setting. My Lincoln has settings from letter A to J. It gives you more control depending on the heat you need for different thickness metals. My back up welder is a Century brand which was made for Lincoln in Poland. Cost was about half of the Lincoln. It only has a high and low heat setting and doesn't have the rugged features as the true Lincoln. It works okay for what it is but the true Lincoln is my every day unit. Miller is another top of the line brand. They market the Hobart brand which I never owned but it is supposed to be a good choice also. Hope this gives you some usefull info.