I Forge Iron

Reasonable price for this Trenton

Hey everyone.  I’m new to blacksmithing and have been using a railroad track anvil so far (one section vertical in concrete, and a section I lay flat for a larger work area) this has been working but I would like to upgrade.

I have been looking online at new anvils in the 100-135 lbs range. It seems like $700-$1000 is about what a quality anvil of that size cost new today. 

I have considered buying a cheap cast anvil to learn with but I don’t like buying things twice and I’m not sure how much better it would be than my railroad track. 

I just found this Trenton anvil for sale near me. Based on some quick research I think it is a farrier’s clip horn style made between 1927 and the late ‘30s (based on the dashed lines in the logo and the N still looking like an N). I think it is the 125lb model based on the dimensions. 

I have not seen it in person yet. The asking price is $800. 

I am very green and welcome all advice. 

ThanksIMG_1117.thumb.png.82b1e44fa6b61936719b024ac83983d4.png

The two key tests for an anvil are ring and rebound.  When you tap an anvil it should have a good clear ring all over the face.  If there is a dead spot that gives more of a thud it probably means the face has delaminated from the body in that area.  That said, some makes of anvils are louder or quieter than others.  So, a subdued ring is not a sign of a bad anvil.

Rebound is more reliable.  Drop a ball bearing onto the face from 10" and measure how high the ball bearing bounces.  The higher the bounce the better.  Anything over 90% is great, 75-89% is good, 60-70% is OK, anything less than 50% is pretty punk.

An anvil can look good but it is possible that it has been through a fire and the temper has be destroyed.  The ring and rebound will be bad in that case.