I Forge Iron

Building a forge -first timer...

Atticka

Hello everyone,

Beginner here, looking for some advice.

I'd like to build my first forge (I'm on a budget) and I was looking at plans for a "coffee can" forge, but it seems like it might be a little small.

I've seen other plans using a propane tank as the body (yes, cutting these open can be very dangerous, I was considering buying a new, never used tank) and lining it with Kaowool, etc...

My main question is about using a propane or mapp gas brazing torch as the heat source, any thoughts on this? advice?

Ever consider using charcoal? Used properly, you can do any kind of forging with charcoal, and you can set up a charcoal forge really cheaply.
There is a great website with directions on making a laundry tub forge which will give you a much bigger forge area than a coffee-can forge.

Also, I think if you use a propane or freon tank for your gas forge shell, you're going to have to buy a much bigger burner than a simple blowtorch like the one used with the coffee can. You're going to have a much bigger volume to heat up and that wee torch won't cut it (IMO). With the bigger burner, you're also going to need a regulator for your propane tank.

-directions for washtub forge (you could use an old hair dryer for your blower)
Charcoal Forge

-a good source for regulators, burners and other forge parts
Ellis Custom Knifeworks

For an alternative to using a cut up tank for your forge shell, check out the thread topic "Ammo Can Forge" (you can use the IFI search button to find it). I've actually used this forge recently and it works really well (in case you can't find a good tank)

It's good to hear from other Canadians. :D
Good luck and have fun.

Aeneas

Try using SS stove pipe instead of an old pressure tank. You won't need much for tools, tin snips, drill, pop rivets, or sheet metal screws, etc. Remember, all you're doing is holding a fire and a couple lbs of stock.