I Forge Iron

el cheapo anvils yep thats me

Ive been looking for an anvil for about 6 months now and have bid on a few anvils recently at auction since none locally are ever less than 500.00. There was a fisher anvil around 70lbs that had one side really badly knocked off aka destroyed it went for 200.00. Then there was a 450lb anvil 34" long massive xxxxxxx that went for 1200.00 lol way out of my price range.

Since im a newbie to forging I feel I was luck to already have a piece of railroad track about 16" long but still want a real anvil shape in the end. I put the track on a stand and hit it with the ball end of a cheapo harbor freight ballpeen hammer and it dented easily with a weak hit. I remember when i got it it was brand new never run over by a train and figure well its kinda soft in my mind and bought a vevor 88lb cheapo anvil on ebay for 115.00 last week hoping it will be harder than the track. maybe i did ok with the cheapo vevor maybe i didnt lol can always sell it for more locally but dont see me buying a 200.00 half gone fisher or a 1200.00 monster i cant move without a engine hoist either.

I figure between the 2 ill be able to forge something in the next few months and not cost me a small fortune in anvils the end. I see many using railroad track and mine seems soft imo but maybe thats my inexperience in anvils being softer than expected compared to a cheap ballpeen hammer lol. Does anyone think the new rr track from the 90s is soft or im just thinking it is?! I know your not suppose to hit the anvil but xxx this thing seems really soft if it hit it with any hammer it dents easily.

Edited by Mod30
Language