I Forge Iron

I require advice on treating my first sword

Hello everybody. I'm a new forger. I've been experimenting with forming hot metal for about 3 years but until recently it's been very casual. I have a sword that I've been working on for about 10 hours. This is my first large project, everything else has been made of rebar or rail road spikes.

The sword is shaped and I've made the guard and handle. After some more sanding on the handle, it'll ready to be put together for the last time and the pommel made and fit. Therefore, I guess the next step is treating it. I've been looking around for how to go about this process for a long time, longer than I've been making this sword actually, but everything seems to be steel type specific information. I do not know what this sword is made of. I dug a massive rusted bolt out of the ground and used that. When grinding it gives a long spark trail with a massive amount of sprigs that form immediately. I assume it to be medium carbon steel but I'm not sure. I do not think that it's high carbon nor do I believe it to be mild. 

How do you think I should proceed? I would absolutely hate to break it. I'm planning on hardening it with motor oil (that's all I've got) then tempering it at 350 for 2 hours. Is that a good idea or should I do something else? 

The dimensions are about 2 1/2 ft long. The blade is about 3 inches in height and maybe 1/8 -3/16 inch thick before it tapers into the point around 7/8th of the way down the blade. I'd post a pic but I don't have any means of doing so unfortunately.