I Forge Iron

Is my forge design good?

Jaewon

Hello, I am new to this stuff and I am trying to build forge because I could not get finished forge. So, I designed with fusion 360 but I'm not sure my design will work or perform well. I'm planning to use T burner by Frosty with 3/4 pipe and I measured volume to be ~320 in^3. My major concern is placement of burner. It seems too off from floor of forge. Thank you for reading!

hexforge 1.png

hexforge 2.png

hexforge 3.png

hexforge 4.png

hexforge 5.png

Welcome aboard Jaewon, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you'll have a better chance of hooking up with members living within visiting distance. Also, lots of answers are pretty location specific.

Without knowing more about the specifics of your forge it's hard to evaluate it. The basic design is sound and should work well. Factors that will effect it's effectiveness are what you line it with, it's thickness, order of layers, etc. We can talk about that later you have a specific question.

The last pic tells the story nicely. Your burner is aimed directly at the far wall. If measuring the burner tube is scale and the chamber is actually 9" across the burner is okay where it is. A forge 9" across doesn't match up with 320 cu/in though so I have to assume it's not that large.