I Forge Iron

Newb Setup for Wood Tool Making

Kooky

Hello, I am new here.

I was an aspiring woodworker until wood prices went through the roof but more importantly, I reside in the people hating, soul crushing, isolated cesspool that is the American suburbs. Thus I have essentially no access to green wood, no trees to put my axes to and no sawyers for hours. Why do I even have axes? You can say I am hopeful. When society collapses I will be the ruler of all the land I could not afford... mwuahah.... I have an absolute addiction for tradition and natural resources, I am a big fan of Crossed Heart Forge's no-plastic, no chemical bottle aesthetic, I can't help it, millennial raised alongside social media and pour over coffee pictures.

So, with the price of metal reasonable and the ability to repurpose/reclaim it more easily than wood due to less deterioration, I decided maybe I should make the tools for woodworking instead of making woodworks... Oh the irony.

I am compiling a small setup and I want it to keep me going for a while, as I am a proponent of buy once cry once. I really want a coal forge but for now propane seems a bit more suitable. So after this purchase I will be saving for a coal forge.

The main reason I am reaching out is because I was burned in the past on "what looked good". Normally, I am not an idiot, but sometimes I am. When I purchased my first Japanese woodworking tools online they were peddled as quality but they were xxxx, I have since purchased almost everything from Stanley Covington in Japan, North Bay Forge, as well as Barr, Gransfors Bruk, and Veritas, I'd like to do the same with most of this gear. I will have to buy cheap hammers and tongs for now...

I've settled on 

- Atlas Single Burner Knifemakers Forge

- Atlas Graham 117lb anvil

- Misc tools: two tongs, two hammers, gloves, fire bricks, wire brush, etc...