I Forge Iron

Yet another newbie

Dana__

Hey all!  New member here, I’ve always been interested in smithing but never had the opportunity to try.  Took a knife class in Columbus last year and I’m pretty much hooked!  Thanks to everyone for the stunning wealth of information here!

I’m just starting out really with a small DIY firebrick forge and basic tools.  I’ve been working over a small rail anvil for a few months but this weekend I was incredibly lucky and scored an M&H Armitage 138 pounder for about $3.5 a pound.  I think I’m actually in shock.

Anyways, looking forward to sponging knowledge from everyone and getting more blisters!

90B3469F-1B71-4B36-B7C6-EAFD2A8E40B5.jpeg

802EEC74-7F81-4BFE-8702-BEFB7D08FCBC.jpeg

532FCEBA-4C98-4EFB-978B-EE8D047EB5C0.jpeg

To my limited experience, the ring is very bright.  Supported 1 lb hammer drop sprung right back up.  Going to try to rummage a ball bearing and get a measured test soon.

Yes, I’ve read those suggestions.  No planned grinding here.  Just going to rub it gently with a diaper, lay down some hot iron and call it good!

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you.  Nice score, probably a fair price.  You are just the current custodian and it will probably still be in use when your grandchildren are old.

I hope you find the craft as rewarding as I have for the last 44 years.  It is a great stress reliever and has gotten me through both good times and bad.

Like many forlk, you have been initially attracted by knife making but there is a lot more to the craft than just that.  I, personally, don't make many knives because knife making involves lots of bench work and I'd rather be hitting hot iron.