I Forge Iron

Mike from New Hampshire

NH Hunter

Hello,

Longtime listener, first time caller...

Just wanted to introduce myself.  I'm Mike and I live in the White Mountains of New Hampshire although I'm technically a snowbird now, as I spend 5 months a year in Florida living in our RV.  My day job is as a compliance officer for a financial services firm .  I work from home, so I have flexibility.  We're heading back to NH shortly and I'm really excited as I've spent the winter researching and preparing my lists of needs/wants to get started.  I have a healthy home ownership garage, including metal and woodworking stuff, but have never blacksmithed.    

I my lists ready to go, and will be hitting the order button early next week for my arrival home.

Anyway, just wanted to say hello and I look forward to the continued learning and interactions.

Mike.

Good Morning Mike,

Welcome to our world, regardless where you park your house. LOL

I wouldn't start ordering a bunch of things for Blacksmithing, until you talk to the Blacksmith Group near your home. Quite often you can get serviceable good Tools and Equipment from someone who is moving on or moving up. Start by reading 'the Blacksmithing Primer', It is written in plain English, very understandable. A lot of your Tools, you can make out of junk you pick up off the ground (as long as you keep your eyes open). Sometimes just letting the word out and be patient with your ears open, magic things appear from the unexpected. There are some very strong Blacksmith players in both Florida and NH.

Neil

Welcome aboard Mike, glad to have you. Ditto not ordering a bunch of blacksmithing stuff, you don't know what you need or want yet. Locate a group close, go to a couple meetings, maybe join. Use the TPAAAT it really works and amazingly well for anything even glue to fix a broken heart.

Frosty The Lucky.