I Forge Iron

A Way to Guesstimate Material Loss to Scale

Hey All

Newbie here with newbie question.  Is there a way to size a metal block to start with in order to arrive at a known forged dimension, taking loss through scale into account?  Probably a million variables, I know, but sort of a standard.  Say an allowable percentage overage on volume to get close?  Running the numbers and doing the math, trying to get a cost analysis.

There are too many variables to give you a meaningful answer. The amount of scale is going to depend on the forge, the number of heats, the surface area of the stock, etc.

I suppose you could weigh a piece of steel, forge it into something, weigh it again. The difference is your answer. You can scale (ha) that number based on the number of units, an estimate of how many additional heats it will take to go bigger, or whatever you're trying do... Speaking of which, what are you trying to do?

I've heard damascus can be upwards of 50-60% depending on how many times you stack and weld. I don't do large nor complex billets so I probably lose less than that; I don't have numbers for you.

I agree with Frazer.  The percentage of loss will vary depending on how much oxygen the work is exposed to and how often.  If you heat the metal in a reducing fire you will have less loss than in an oxygen rich fire.  You will also have less if you do the work in 5 heats than if it takes you 10.  Experience will give you a general sense of how much will be lost but only a general sense.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand."

A lot of the stock loss on pattern welding is often do to the patterning; you waste a lot of the billet grinding away material to get the pattern you want to show.    Some of the industrial forging books give a percentage per heat estimate;  but that won't be anything like a hobby smith with a hobby set up sees.