I Forge Iron

Removing rust from a Champion 400 blower

Blacksmith39

I recently purchased a Champion 400 blower and I’m not sure what the most efficient way to clean it up is. The guy I bought it from said it hadn’t been used in a long time. It cranks smoothly and appears to be in excellent condition it’s just rusty. I want to clean it up really good before I oil it and start using it. I’m not sure how I should remove the rust and the gunk that’s inside the fan case. I’ve been wire wheeling parts of the outside of it but that’s taking forever and I know there’s probably plenty of better ways to do it. Any advice and tips on how to clean it up would be greatly appreciated.
thanks! 185FE05C-0637-4161-8F85-11DFEEDBCBC9.thumb.jpeg.108840d24cd2d183799cafdf4bddaa5a.jpeg65B7A0A3-3B7A-4406-BB8D-646CCA44CB50.thumb.jpeg.c0e3c1275dd1023a44fc31de626491e5.jpeg6B0319B6-23AC-4180-9A64-87DB90FF37E5.thumb.jpeg.f4b867a5db38e7caf4df346da25d178f.jpeg

I am by no means an expert, but that is something I would probably try to sand blast if I could. I am sure others have better ideas that don't involve making a gigantic mess with media though.

Whenever I get a new blower, I pull the fan cover off, remove the fan and clean the inside with whatever is appropriate- scraper, putty knife, wire wheel, etc. I pull the lid off the gearbox and flush the entire thing out with degreaser, mineral spirits, acetone or whatever is handy. If there is heavy rust buildup, scrape, wheel or sand. Thats about it. If I want to paint it, I do a rattle can primer for rusty metal and finish as desired. Other than that I put it back together, add oil as appropriate to the gear box and give it a wipe of BLO or something. I tend to keep things simple.

Steve