I Forge Iron

Refflinghaus will chip?

Hi folks,

I am new here, nice to meet you all.

I am an amateur that needs a new anvil and this time wants a good one.

I am kinda lost between Fontanini and Refflinghaus, 125kg.

After few days on this forum reading your comments I still have a doubt.

My experience so far was on a self designed anvil made by a simple block of UNI C45.

It was professionally heat treated by a company in my hometown but time passed by, and  I forgot how hard is this thing. Something like Fontanini I'd suppose.

It dented a lot, chip just once on the edge under crazy abuse.

Since I already worked for a long time on a 50+? HRC anvil, that Refflinghaus 60+ HRC value both fascinates and scares me. 

What if I miss the work and hit on the anvil by mistake? Will I find a chip of hardened metal flying to my eyes like a bullet?

Therefore I ask you fellas...

Refflinghaus could be a miss forgiving anvil or it's made only for super pros?

Any experience you could share with me?

Thank you!

Simply put. 
There is NOT a single anvil in the world that will not chip. 
All brands will chip. Some very soon, other, usually higher quality ones will chip much later in time. 

The main causes for chipping is improper edge dressing of the anvil, improper edge dressing of the hammer, smith hitting the edge, striker hitting the edge. 
The biggest culprits are smiths themselves (accidently) hitting the edge, causing a small piece to break off. 
This can happen during operations around any edge. 

Nicely said Joey.

Welcome aboard Martello, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many members live within visiting distance.