I Forge Iron

New forge questions

Zach D

Hey folks, I'm somewhat new to the forging community. I built my first firebrick forge a little over a year ago. It worked OK, but it wasn't very efficient. So this last month I've built a new forge. It has 1" ceramic insulation then about 1/4" refractory cement over the sides and ceiling and about 1/2" to 3/4" on the bottom. The chamber is 7" wide, 4" tall and 13" long. I'm using the burner I built for my first forge, but I'm having some issues with it. If I open my tank more than a quarter to half a turn the flame starts to puff and sputter. So leaving the tank just barely cracked open and the pressure cranked pretty high it stays solid but it seems pretty rich. I get nice blue flame inside the chamber but about 10" of yellow dragons breath of the front and back. Longer in the front when I close off the back. I'll attach some pictures if I can. 

I haven't been at this whole thing long enough to know if it's right or wrong. Any advise would be great! 

Zach

20210206_112549.jpg

20210206_112541.jpg

20210206_112525.jpg

Welcome aboard Zach, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you'll have a better chance of meeting members who live within visiting distance. A lot of information is location specific like: hammer ins and BBQs, tools, equipment, prices, etc. 

Who's plans did you follow, have you asked them about the issues? 

Telling me the dimensions of your forge don't do much good, I don't do basic arithmetic for people anymore. The numbers you need to take into account are: Forge volume. Burner size. There are I don't know how many pages of forge construction discussions in the "Forges 101" section here. There are a similar number of pages about propane burner discussions under, "Burners 101".