I Forge Iron

Finally saying hi

ShortFinger

Hi... 

Just kidding that is not all. First I have browsed this forum for quite a while and I feel I should first say thanks for all the info. 

I am still fairly new to this. I started out trying to make blades, bottle opens and the occasional spoon, leaf. Now I have made a few pair of things that hold metal I dare to call tongs, a couple hammers, a hot cut and a few hand held punches. Oh and one axe. 

Anywho, I am in Texas. Brought here from Tennessee when I joined the Air Force.

Again thanks for the info and allowing me to join. 

Oh the name is because part my finger was cut off in an accident (too long of a story to type)   

Stu 

Welcome aboard Stu. Sounds like you're doing well building your hammer skills. 

I once stuck a woodcarving knife through my pointer finger on my left hand. It went through just under the bone and took out the tendon and vein and all. I was unsafely trying to pop a link on a wooden chain I was carving. Anyway I got lucky and a doc was able to sew the tendon and vein back up. The tendon only retracted back to the base of the finger and he opened it up in a zigzag pattern to get to it to reattach. Took a good bit of healing and therapy but it works. I was playing guitar in a band at the time and it took a while to get back to being able to play. Anyway I've since packed up my music equipment and that little carving knife and stick with metalwork. It still has risks but I play it much more safe since that. 

Welcome aboard Stu, glad to have you.