I Forge Iron

Hello from Lacey , Washington :)

flufflebun

Hi everyone 

I'm looking foward to learning a new craft and grateful for the opportunity to have access to all the knowledge on this site :) I've always been Interested in black smithing but am just now getting into gear to give it a shot lol way to much free time during quarentien plus it's something I can do with my little brother lol. I have 11 years of experience casting dental prosthetics and have been distilling and making liquors for the last two years. So its def due to time I get back into something that tickles my artistic side a bit . Over the last couple weeks me and my little brother built a small shop , fashioned an anvil , repurposed a few hammers and nippers , ordered a small forge " thank you hells forge" and the last few days we have been giving it a good wack lol. Our first creation was a bit wonky but def a good learning experience with figuring out how the metal moves and how important hammer control is XD.. day 2 we had a bit more confidence and we forged out a knife for my partner out of 1095 "bought this before I found out how finicky it is to harden...." and cleaned it up a lil bit.  it was def a dif beast than mild steel took me a sec to adjust lol this one is on pause till I get my drill press and receive the parks #50 I ordered in the mail. And for our most recent project yesterday a bottle opener lol this was just kinda fun to make with my little brother :)

Thank you again :) 

Evelyn 
here are a few pics of our our progress so far :)

received_274219667070555.jpeg

received_648331572672844.jpeg

received_607890010073153.jpeg

received_634483650741860.jpeg

received_562401114481161.jpeg

also i apologize for wonky picture sizes.... im still figuring out how to resize things .... havnt had to do that since myspace....

Welcome aboard Evelyn, glad to have another ladysmith join the gang!  A distiller too! (oooh)  What kinds of liquors do you make?