I Forge Iron

Wanting to start, came across this on craigslist

Nailsmith

Hello, everyone.

My name is John and I'm from Chattanooga. I'm currently a full-time Electrical Engineer (so make sure to speak slowly and use small words for me haha). My username is a play on my german surname.

I have been thinking about getting into blacksmithing for a while. I currently have no equipment, but came across a listing on craigslist. It is for a 127lb Hay-Budden anvil (claims from 1894), a post vise with a 5" jaw, a homemade forge, and a little bit of coal with miscellaneous tools. He is asking $600, and I just want to make sure I wasn't overpaying. After some research, it looks like Hay-Budden are good anvils, and ones in good condition good for a hefty price. I'm not looking into doing anything professionally, just wanted another hobby (even though the wife thinks I already have too many).

Here are some pictures of the main items from the listing.

Anvil:

00e0e_beBlLDqxlAO_600x450.jpg.7dff945cc6dd7d0a04bbce9a286ffd3b.jpg

Vise:

00P0P_6SpGCD9zs6P_1200x900.jpg.371d4020527126a918747446e0fba747.jpg

Forge:

00C0C_ixMHJuKflYS_600x450.jpg.6845875606cbde1471544dce106250cf.jpg

John, that’s a good deal if the HB has good ring and bearing tests. Is the blacksmith getting out of it, or just culling the heard? You may want to ask if he has any tooling available. Misc tongs, hardy tools, punches, etc. will come in handy. Do you have any other metal working equipment (files, grinders, hammers, etc.) available? Don’t fret, once you have some basics you can build up skills making what you need. That’s half the fun!

David