I Forge Iron

Supporting small businesses?

Selph

Hello everyone! A bit of an odd question here from a newbie, but I thought this was the best place to ask. With all the uncertainty of the times right now, my wife and I are fortunate to have safe jobs that we can both do remotely. However, there's many who aren't so fortunate. We're planning to donate half of the money we get from any stimulus to local charities, but we wanted to use whatever was left over to help support small businesses.

I'm still new to blacksmithing. I've taken quite a few classes at this point and nearly have my own set up complete. I got into blacksmithing through woodworking and mostly plan to make tools, hooks, hinges, and fun stuff like that. Are there any recommendations for tools that would help a new blacksmith get going that would also help a small business with a sale? Right now, the budget is probably $1000 at the very top if I spend all the brownie points I've earned with my lady. I was thinking about maybe a guillotine tool, to something more like a belt grinder or even a heat treat oven I found that was 6x6x10 internally for ~800.

Just because I feel compelled to add this part: I absolutely know that I don't need to spend this kind of money on something I've been interested in for two years, but actually been doing for only a few months. There's no reason to spend this much as a beginner. I know that. I had been intending to slowly make all my own tools. I just thought this could be a good way of trying to help out the community in what may end up being some tough times ahead. I hope this isn't out of line. Thanks!

From watching Black Bear Forge a bit too much, those look incredibly useful. Are those available in that price range? If so, that's a big contender. I'll have to do some research. Thanks for the suggestion! Are there any particular smallish brands out there that have good reputations?