I Forge Iron

Need help identify an anvil

Hey I’m looking at purchasing  a anvils and need advice I’m a veteran 30 years union pipefitter X-ray welder mig rig stick but no experience as at blacksmithing so I’m 55 and want an anvils for my home shop to learn so when I retire I’ll be efficient in rlten

years lol I’m looking on the internet and other dealers blacksmithing at110 to 165 pounders Kanca, Carroll,Emerson,N.C.,tifs,and jhm around 600$ then I saw a nice looking older Isaac Nash on a stump in same price range so what’s my best option 

Welcome to IFI... I always suggest this thread to get the best out of the forum. It is full of tips like editing your profile to show your location. READ THIS FIRST

I would have to look at and test the ring & rebound on the Nash. Depending upon the weight, location and passing those tests it would be my choice.

Many old anvils were made from multiple pieces and the forge welds can fail. Usually you will see delaminating faces, but heels and horns have been broken off. Modern cast anvils are good quality. One of mine is a 125# JHM Journeyman that I got from a retired farrier. Nice anvil, that I would recommend without hesitation.

A list of modern anvils was just started, go check it out along with the improvised anvil thread. For beginners I would lean towards an improvised, as they can be picked up for free or just a few dollars.

Note that many cast iron anvils are not using quality; the ones made from cast ductile iron are much superior to plain cast iron ones and the cast steel anvils are generally superior to cast ductile iron.  KNOW WHAT YOU ARE GETTING!

Even top brand old forged anvils can have lost their temper in a structure fire and so not be as hard as they should be---look up the Ball Bearing test to test for that!

Don't do anything to it. It looks great. Wipe it down with a rag with some light oil on it if you can't help but do something to it. The surface is good.