I Forge Iron

Begining Smith from AZ

BlueRuStudios

Hello y'all!

I found this wonderful repository from Torbjörn Åhman. I am in the process of building a gas forge and on the lookout for a decent learner's anvil. I look forward to gleaning as much knowledge as I can and sharing my growth through this hobby.

A little about myself; my name is Alex. I'm a federal technician that is a mechanic for the National Guard. I've been in the Army for 9 years and a mechanic, professionally, for over 10. I do plenty of diy around the house and have recently found a love and desire to craft with metal.

Cheers!

Thanks for the warm welcome!

19 hours ago, Irondragon Forge & Clay said:

...READ THIS FIRST

If you edit your profile to show your location.. 

Thank you! I made sure to read that before I made any post. Also, I thought it took last night, but successfully updated.

8 hours ago, ThomasPowers said:

Have you met up with the AZ ABANA Affiliate yet?

I haven't had the pleasure yet. I'm planning on jumping into a couple classes at Grizzly in the next few months.

2 hours ago, BIGGUNDOCTOR said:

Where in AZ?

I'm down in Phoenix!

• 1 month later...
23 minutes ago, FlatLiner said:

Welcome read up on the improvised anvil thread, sometimes its easier and cheeper to find an improvised anvil to begin with.

Thanks for the warm welcome! I actually finished up the forge and will making a smaller one this weekend. I ended up buying a good piece of rr track and it's working alright. Still looking out for a cost effective anvil. I did start the forge and work a little bit and I'm loving the learning so far!

Do you have your RR track mounted vertically? It will work a lot better than laying horizontally. I have a piece that's thirty inches and 115 pounds mounted vertically and it works pretty good. Definitely look through the improvised anvil forum and you'll get a better idea of what an anvil is. They don't have to look like  Wile E. Coyote ordered it from ACME.

Pnut