I Forge Iron

Two different burner types in same gas forge

Chris C

I'm a newbie.  Been reading everything I can find about forges.  Seems to me that a ribbon burner is great for some things and not others and that the venturi burner is in the same boat, so to speak.   Would it make any sense to install both in the same forge and just hook the propane up to the one most needed at the time?  I've not seen any forges set up that way, so it's probably a crazy idea, but I just had to ask.  I have done searches but only get hits on one burner or the other.

I’m doing something like that with my forge. Though I wouldn’t use the distinction of Venturi vs. ribbon. To me the Venturi (aka NA, naturally aspirated) relates to air induction and is the alternative to a forced-air or blown system. The nozzle may be a jet nozzle (large single outlet) or a ribbon nozzle (array of many small outlets). 

So for my forge, I made a burner entry port large enough for a ribbon block and then made a plug for the jet nozzle to use that entry port. 

Here’s my thread if you’re interested. I don’t really know what I’m doing, so it’s all just a bunch of experiments. 

Very interesting..............thanks for the link.  Stick with Frosty.................he won't lead you astray.

My questions was more about having both type burners installed in one forge at the same time and just connecting the propane via quick connectors as needed.   Lots of newbie questions running around in my old head.  Maybe one burner would be a ribbon and the other a forced air.  I've been reading too much I guess.  Seems a lot of experienced blacksmiths and knife makers have several forges in their shops for different purposes.  I'm just wondering if one forge could house more than one burner to keep from having several different forges.

Can you; yes. Should you; probably not.