I Forge Iron

my forge-development thread

jwmelvin

I considered YAMFF, aka Yet Another My First Forge.

I'm an engineer by training, though never worked professionally past grad school. Lately I've been putting together a bit of a metal shop to enable various projects, and I added forging and casting to the list, so ended up on this great forum. I feel like I've learned quite a bit so far and realize there is a vast amount unknown to me. I'd like to try a variety of experiments to learn more. I have a working burner, as seen here, and I have some ideas for further variations on that theme, along with trying a ribbon burner, seen here. Rather than spewing on other people's threads, I figured I may as well start my own, also to help me keep track of things I have tried.

I cut up a helium cylinder today, which was a fun way to use some tools, and have the shell ready for further adaptation. My kids helped me, which made it fun.

642320338_circlejigforplasma.thumb.jpg.30ddb21f1f10f6c9ab9fbbcfb55b5533.jpg

1430039460_forgeshellstep01.thumb.jpg.88f3ade2990d0ed6958a285780f34558.jpg

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I hope you will choose Kast-O-lite 30 to cast the forge's the end pieces (exhaust openings) in place before going much further. Smong other things, this method will ensure that your exhaust openings will be kept well clear of hot gases, thus allowing you to maintain whatever heat paint you choose to replace the present paint job with. BTW, I use red heat paint for all my heating equipment--safety first :)

Because you built a very hot burner (congratulations on that), you will need to follow up with a first class forge build, if you want it to stand up to its "engine."

You mentioned wanting to forge, and do casting. Do you plan to build that equipment to use for both tasks?