I Forge Iron

Beginners blacksmithing

MangoSmith

So i would like to make a classic forge, the kind where you have a trough made from the ceramic bricks and steel casing, and bellows, an anvil, etc.

Im new at this, so go easy on me, lol.

I have so many questions. What is tempering? Normalizing? Should i use oil or water for quenching? what hammer should i get? What's the easiest metals to work for a beginner?

How would i go about this? I would like to know any details, as this is my first attempt into blacksmithing.

I used to cast aluminum, but i never had a real forge or anything. Just a trash can filled with cement, and a hole in it for a pipe with a hair dryer as a fan lol.

Welcome Mango, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many members live within visiting distance.

My advice for the beginner goes like this. Don;t try to decide on tool and equipment design or type, you don't know enough to know what you like or need or works for you. 

For example a classic forge is a hole in the ground, a couple pieces of bamboo, one large one with feathers on a stick to pump air and smaller diameter one covered in mud as the air blast. Check out the JABOD forge it's a side blast consisting of: a box of dirt, a couple bricks, a piece of pipe, an air pump and fuel. The basic design is as old as humans have been forging metal and as effective today as it has ever been. Okay the early models didn't have the box. So shoot me. 

Forget about heat treating till you've learned some basic blacksmithing. You'll get an introduction soon enough making your punches, slitters and chisels to use at the anvil. Just don't worry about it now.