I Forge Iron

Sword tempering without an oven

45-70nut

I am starting a new project soon, a hand and a half knights templar with a 30" blade and a fuller. With the tang it will be 39". This is to long for my oven so I am thinking of tempering using 2 short sections of 1" round stock and holding them into the fuller while hot. Has any one used this method before or should I just build a tempering oven?

Search the site for "tempering tongs".

Also, the Knights Templar were a military order who used a lot of different swords at various points and places in their history. Do you have a number from the Oakshott typology that corresponds to the sword that you're making?

The typology would be an XIIIa. A hand and a half, 30" blade, 39 o.a.l., with a fuller running down 2/3 of the blade. Im planning on forging in the fuller using 1" round stock for the dies, and for the tempering tongs. Im hopeing to blue the spine while getting the edge to a straw color. I have some experience in chasing colors, but not on a double edged sword and not of this length. Any advice? Or flaws in my plan?

Any possibility of doing a snap temper to straw on the whole blade and then go back and draw the fuller to blue; perhaps even with the straw edges in water soaked sponges?

Swords are scary when hard and brittle as a minor accident can result in catastrophic failure.

Usually no but this seemed to be getting into  Austempering, which is quench and tempering in same fluid heated to tempering temperatures so it cools then starts tempering in one operation basically forming bainite <over simplified> 

That may explain why my first swords heat treat was so odd. After two failed tempering attempts I let the oil cool to 150 F, heated the blade to about 1650 F and held it in the oil a good 30 seconds, when it cooled, a file wouldnt touch it and it flexed nicely. It seemed to already be tempered. After testing extensively I did eventually do an oven temper, for good measure.