I Forge Iron

Wood staining advice needed.

I've been working on a blade for my wife & found some very nice birdseye maple today for the scales. She loves the colour blue. So id like to dye the wood, but I've never done this before. I like a natural finish myself. 

I've been doing some interweb searching for this. But everything I'm coming up with involves acid of one form or another. Which she'd object to. 

Does anyone here have a formula or recipe for dying maple with a more natural method. 

Thanks for any advice.

0320190924.jpg

Aniline dyes.  SOP when coloring wood with weird colors.

They are VERY concentrated so be sure and use sparingly...plus test on scrap.

Here's an article from Wood magazine to start but there are other and possibly more thorough resources out there if you search.  https://www.woodmagazine.com/materials-guide/finishes/aniline-dyes

Clear is subjective. Some people like the slight yellowish tint that certain oils and shellac can give.  I tend to lean toward the true clear water-based poly floor finishes because they are tough as nails.  A good one can also be musical instrument lacquers because they are slightly flexible when hardened--good for a knock-around knife that gets used.

True lacquers tend to give you more of that look of depth in wood but can be a bit more finicky to apply.  When done right, it feels like you are looking into the wood and not just at the surface.  Catalyzed lacquers can be remarkable finishes but that's a whole new can of worms.

For glass smooth finishes, it takes a little more work..you might even look up "french polishing" if you want to go crazy on it.

In any case...many thin coats, not fewer heavy coats.  Prep both before and between coats is also key.

Finishing voodoo is one of those wood subjects where everyone has an opinion...and they all tend to say their opinion is the "right" way and that others just haven't learned yet.   Take research with a grain of salt when poking around.