I Forge Iron

I'm new to smithing and was advised my first tool I make should be a chisel so I can cut hot steel. Makes sense.  I was thinking about grinding a butcher profile on the foot of my vertical rr track I'm using for an anvil. I wanted to get other opinions on the idea. Thanks in advance to anyone who has the time to respond. Your insight is appreciated.

A couple of things you may want to consider. As you are new to smithing, how often are you going to use the butcher modification? Can it become a pinch point for present or future blacksmithing work?

A chisel can be used anywhere.

A portable hole may be the answer. You can then make what ever tool you want to fit the portable hole, such as a hot cut for cutting hot metal, different size and shape fullers, etc. When you upgrade from the rr track anvil to something else, the portable hole still works. If you size the portable hole correctly the tools might fit the new anvil.

I'm not sure how often I'd use it but the only other way I have to cut stock is an angle grinder. I don't know if it would make a pinch point or not. I was planning on grinding it into the foot at the very end nearest the edge. 

The foot is already even with the rail.  I would just be profiling about 3 inches.

Good points though. Perhaps I'll wait until I've worked on it a while longer before I start modifying it. Thanks.

You cutting cold metal or hot metal?

For hot metal just tilt the stock 45 degrees and use the edge of the rr track to put a crease in the stock, flip it over and crease from the other side. Bend to brake into two pieces.

If cold, then put a crease or cut through the stock with an angle grinder, hack saw, chisel, then bend.