I Forge Iron

Total Beginner to Forging Ready to Learn

ColinHeath

Hello All,

I run a fabrication and engineering company that does mainly stainless steel for food and drink but have a big interest in learning to forge.

I am In the U.K. and keen to learn but also know this will need lots of practice.

I have a super cheap 20kg anvil and today picked up a big beast which is probably around 40-50kg which I would like to identify.

Looking forward to learning and sharing as I go.

heres a picture of the anvil I picked up today and it has an extra hole close to the step which I have no idea on it’s purpose.

the anvil has handling holes but no markings I can find as yet, I will start a thread.

I have also put a picture of my first attempt at a leaf, lots more to learn and patience thinning down the stem etc.

8BF0CA16-08EA-4175-AA28-B98116EFD732.jpeg

0860FFD5-E921-4F4B-94A5-84BEC00AD492.jpeg

Good Morning, Colin

Welcome to whatever it is that we do, take something and make it into something else, except gooder.

The hardest part is the beginning. There are almost no wrong way's to do something. What works for me, may not work for you. So what!! When I am teaching a new Class, I give everyone a small container of Play-Doh, Plasticene or modeling Clay. Steel/metal works identical when it is in it's plastic state, HOT. Play-Doh (etc) works the same, almost to the Hammer Stroke or manipulating with your fingers. The difference is, you don't burn your fingers.

Stay safe, don't work a propane Forge inside without excellent circulation (creates deadly Carbon MonOxide fumes that start at the floor and work up). I probably don't have to remind about your PPE.

Enjoy,

Neil

A big open warehouse door does not mean you can not accumulate CO somewhere. Several feet outside the door would be better.  A CO detector inside the building will alert you to CO. 

The second hole is there so you can figure out ways to make use of it.