I Forge Iron

Absolute beginner, anvil project

Hey everyone. I'm sorry if this is in the wrong place. I'm new here and I have been looking in the forums for some time. I have absolutely no experience blacksmithing, but I'm very interested in it and have been doing as much reading as I can the past month or so. 

I went to a local machine shop and asked the owner if he had any spare steel scraps he would sell me. He let me look around. He had a 8 inch piece of railroad iron. I had read about using them here, but I came across this piece. It's 83 lbs and it's cold rolled steel apparently.I don't know if I overpaid, and I don't know what cold rolled steel is, but he charged me a dollar a pound.he ended up being a pretty nice man. He said he used to buy and sell anvils a long time ago. He had called an acquaintance of his while I was there but apparently still sells them and told me he would let me know if he had any he was looking to sell. His employee said his son used to blacksmith and still has a forge sitting in his garage that he might be interested in partying with. I took his number down.

My plan right now is to take four 4x4 treated lumber that I have sitting in the backyard and tie them together somehow and cut a insert between the four of them to let this sit in there. Do you think there's a better idea? Any tips is greatly appreciated thank you so much!

1543350180998184656567.jpg

Welcome to IFI... one of the reads that will help you get the best out of the forum is this. https://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/53873-read-this-first/

Have a look at the anvil stands section to get an idea of how to mount that improvised anvil.

We won't remember your location once leaving this post, hence the suggestion to edit your profile to show location.

Welcome!